Friday, November 28, 2014

The Revoke

A revoke occurs when a player (other than dummy), holding one or more cards of the suit led, plays a card of a different suit. The penalty for a revoke takes precedence of all other counts.

A revoke is established if the trick in which it occurs be turned and quitted, i.e., the hand removed from the trick after it has been gathered and placed face downward on the table; or if either the revoking player or his partner, whether in his right turn or otherwise, have led or played to the following trick.

The penalty for a revoke is three tricks taken from the revoking player and added to those of the adversaries.

The penalty is applicable only to the score of the game in which it occurs.

Under no circumstances can the revoking side score game in that hand. Whatever their previous score may have been, the side revoking cannot attain a higher score toward game than twenty-eight.

A player may ask his partner whether he has not a card of the suit which he has renounced; should the question be asked before the trick is turned and quitted, subsequent turning and quitting does not establish a revoke, and the error may be corrected unless the question be answered in the negative or unless the revoking player or his partner has led or played to the following trick.

If a player correct his mistake in time to save a revoke, any player or players who have followed him may withdraw their cards and substitute others, and the cards so withdrawn are not exposed cards. If the player in fault be one of the dealer's adversaries, the card played in error is an exposed card, and the dealer can call it whenever he pleases; or he may require the offender to play his highest or lowest card or the suit to the trick in which he has renounced.

If the player in fault be the dealer, the eldest hand may require him to play the highest or lowest card of the suit in which he has renounced, provided both adversaries of the dealer have played to the current trick; but this penalty cannot be exacted against the dealer when he is fourth in hand, nor can it be enforced at all from dummy.

At the end of a hand the claimants of a revoke may search all the tricks. If the cards have been mixed the claim may be urged and proved if possible; but no proof is necessary, and the revoke is established if, after it has been claimed, the accused player or his partner mix the cards before they have been sufficiently examined by the adversaries.

A revoke must be claimed before the cards have been cut for the following deal.

Should the players on both sides subject themselves to the revoke penalty neither can win the game by that hand.

The revoke penalty may be claimed for as many revokes as occur during a hand; but the accumulated penalty shall in no event exceed thirteen tricks.

Wednesday, October 29, 2014

Bridge Cards Played in Error

Should the third hand not have played and the fourth play before his partner, the latter (not being dummy or dealer) may be called upon to play his highest or lowest card of the suit played, or to win or lose the trick.

If anyone, not being dummy, omit playing to a former trick and such error be not corrected until he has played to the next, the adversaries may claim a new deal; should they decide that the deal stands good, the surplus card at the end of the hand is considered to have been played to the imperfect trick, but does not constitute a revoke therein.

If anyone (except dummy) play two cards to the same trick, or mix a card with a trick to which it does not belong, and the mistake be not discovered until the hand is played out, he is answerable for any consequent revokes he may have made. If during the play of the hand the error be detected, the tricks may be counted face downward, in order to ascertain whether there be among them a card too many; should this be the case, the trick which contains a surplus card may be examined and the card restored to its original holder, who (not being dummy) shall be liable for any revoke he may meanwhile have made.

Sunday, August 24, 2014

Leads Out of Turn

If either of the dealer's adversaries lead out of turn, the dealer may call the card erroneously led, or may call a suit when it is the turn of either adversary to lead.

If the dealer lead out of turn, either from his own hand or dummy, he incurs no penalty; but he may not rectify the error after the second hand has played.

If any player lead out of turn and the other three follow him, the trick is complete and the error cannot be rectified; but if only the second, or second and third play to the false lead, their cards may be taken back; there is no penalty against anyone except the original offender, who, if he be one of the dealer's adversaries, may be penalised as above.

In no case can a player he compelled to play a card which would oblige him to revoke.

The call of an exposed card may be repeated at every trick until such card has been played.

If a player called on to lead a suit have none of it, the penalty is paid.

Tuesday, August 19, 2014

Rules for Declaring Trump in Bridge

The trump is declared. No card is turned.
  • The dealer may either make the trump or pass the declaration to his partner.
  • If the declaration be passed to partner, he must make the trump.
Should the dealer's partner make the trump without receiving permission from the dealer, the eldest hand may demand,
1st. That the trump shall stand, or
2d. That there shall be a new deal.

But if any declaration as to doubling, or not doubling, shall have been made, or if a new deal be not claimed, the declaration wrongly made shall stand. The eldest hand is the player on the left of the dealer.

Should the dealer's partner pass the declaration to the dealer it shall be the right of the eldest hand to claim a new deal or to compel the offending player to declare the trump; provided, that no declaration as to doubling has been made.

If either of the dealer's adversaries make or pass the declaration, the dealer may, after looking at his hand, either claim a new deal or proceed as if no declaration had been made.

A trump declaration once made cannot be altered.

Monday, August 18, 2014

Bridge Rules for When a New Deal is Required

There must be a new deal:
  • If the cards be not dealt into four packets, one at a time, and in regular rotation, beginning at the dealer's left.
  • If, during a deal, or during the play of a hand, the pack be proven incorrect or imperfect.
  • If any card be faced in the pack.
  • If any player have dealt to him a greater number of cards than thirteen.
  • If the dealer deal two cards at once and then deal a third before correcting the error.
  • If the dealer omit to have the pack cut and the adversaries call attention to the fact prior to the conclusion of the deal and before looking at their cards.
  • If the last card do not come in its regular order to the dealer.

There may be a new deal:
  • If the dealer or his partner expose a card. The eldest hand may claim a new deal.
  • If either adversary expose a card. The dealer or his partner may claim a new deal.
  • If, before fifty-one cards are dealt, the dealer should look at any card. His adversaries have the right to see it, and the eldest hand may exact a new deal.
  • If, in dealing, one of the last cards be exposed by the dealer or his partner, and the deal is completed before there is reasonable time for the eldest hand to decide as to a new deal. But in all other cases such penalties must be claimed prior to the completion of the deal.

The claim for a new deal by reason of a card exposed during the deal may not be made by a player who has looked at any of his cards. If a new deal does not take place, the card exposed during the deal cannot be called.

Should three players have their right number of cards, and should the fourth, not being dummy, have less than thirteen and not discover such deficiency until he has played any of his cards, the deal stands good; should he have played, he is answerable for any revoke he may have made as if the missing card or cards had been in his hand. The other pack may be searched for the missing card or cards.

If during the play of a deal a pack be proven incorrect or imperfect, such proof renders only the current deal void, and does not affect any prior score. The dealer must deal again.

Anyone dealing with the adversaries' cards must be corrected before the play of the first card, otherwise the deal stands good. If anyone deals when it is the turn of an adversary, such error must be corrected before the cards are dealt for the following deal.

A player can neither shuffle, cut nor deal for his partner without the permission of his adversaries.

Friday, June 27, 2014

Rules for Card Shuffling in Bridge

The pack must neither be shuffled below the table nor so the face of any card be seen.

The dealer's partner must collect the cards for the ensuing deal and he has the first right to shuffle the cards. Each player has the right to shuffle subsequently. The dealer has the right to shuffle last, but should a card or cards be seen during his shuffling, or whilst giving the pack to be cut, he must re-shuffle.

Each player, after shuffling, must place the cards properly collected and face downward to the left of the player next to deal.

Thursday, January 2, 2014

Saving a Re-entry Card for the Dummy's Long Suit

The score is love-all, rubber game. The dealer, Z, makes it no-trump, and A leads for the first trick.
A 9 6 5 2
9 8 7
6 5 4
6 5
J 10
K 10
J 9 7 2
K J 8 4 2
  Y  Q 7 4
Q J 5 4 3
A 3
10 9 7
A   B
  Z 
K 8 3
A 6 2
K Q 10 8
A Q 3
TRICKAYB Z
1 4   5   9   Q  
2 10   2 4   3
3 J   6   7   3  
4 2   7   10   A  
5   J   5   7   K
6   2   A   Q   8
7   7   9 3 2  
8   9   6   3 6  
9   J   4   A   8
10 10   8   4   A  
11 8     5 5     K
12 K     6 J     Q
13 K   9   Q     10
 

The dealer wins ten tricks as follows:

Trick 2.—As the adversaries must take one trick in the spade suit, the dealer allows them to win the first trick, in order to take the third round with the A, the A being the only re-entry card in the dummy.
Trick 3.—A continues with his long suit. The dealer, hoping that the A of diamonds is in B's hand, refuses to give up the commanding card.
Trick 5.—The dealer, so that the suit will not be blocked, leads the K of spades.
Trick 6.—The diamond discard loses a trick.
Trick 9.—The dealer, holding the A of clubs for re-entry, now clears the diamond suit.