Sunday, August 24, 2014

Leads Out of Turn

If either of the dealer's adversaries lead out of turn, the dealer may call the card erroneously led, or may call a suit when it is the turn of either adversary to lead.

If the dealer lead out of turn, either from his own hand or dummy, he incurs no penalty; but he may not rectify the error after the second hand has played.

If any player lead out of turn and the other three follow him, the trick is complete and the error cannot be rectified; but if only the second, or second and third play to the false lead, their cards may be taken back; there is no penalty against anyone except the original offender, who, if he be one of the dealer's adversaries, may be penalised as above.

In no case can a player he compelled to play a card which would oblige him to revoke.

The call of an exposed card may be repeated at every trick until such card has been played.

If a player called on to lead a suit have none of it, the penalty is paid.

Tuesday, August 19, 2014

Rules for Declaring Trump in Bridge

The trump is declared. No card is turned.
  • The dealer may either make the trump or pass the declaration to his partner.
  • If the declaration be passed to partner, he must make the trump.
Should the dealer's partner make the trump without receiving permission from the dealer, the eldest hand may demand,
1st. That the trump shall stand, or
2d. That there shall be a new deal.

But if any declaration as to doubling, or not doubling, shall have been made, or if a new deal be not claimed, the declaration wrongly made shall stand. The eldest hand is the player on the left of the dealer.

Should the dealer's partner pass the declaration to the dealer it shall be the right of the eldest hand to claim a new deal or to compel the offending player to declare the trump; provided, that no declaration as to doubling has been made.

If either of the dealer's adversaries make or pass the declaration, the dealer may, after looking at his hand, either claim a new deal or proceed as if no declaration had been made.

A trump declaration once made cannot be altered.

Monday, August 18, 2014

Bridge Rules for When a New Deal is Required

There must be a new deal:
  • If the cards be not dealt into four packets, one at a time, and in regular rotation, beginning at the dealer's left.
  • If, during a deal, or during the play of a hand, the pack be proven incorrect or imperfect.
  • If any card be faced in the pack.
  • If any player have dealt to him a greater number of cards than thirteen.
  • If the dealer deal two cards at once and then deal a third before correcting the error.
  • If the dealer omit to have the pack cut and the adversaries call attention to the fact prior to the conclusion of the deal and before looking at their cards.
  • If the last card do not come in its regular order to the dealer.

There may be a new deal:
  • If the dealer or his partner expose a card. The eldest hand may claim a new deal.
  • If either adversary expose a card. The dealer or his partner may claim a new deal.
  • If, before fifty-one cards are dealt, the dealer should look at any card. His adversaries have the right to see it, and the eldest hand may exact a new deal.
  • If, in dealing, one of the last cards be exposed by the dealer or his partner, and the deal is completed before there is reasonable time for the eldest hand to decide as to a new deal. But in all other cases such penalties must be claimed prior to the completion of the deal.

The claim for a new deal by reason of a card exposed during the deal may not be made by a player who has looked at any of his cards. If a new deal does not take place, the card exposed during the deal cannot be called.

Should three players have their right number of cards, and should the fourth, not being dummy, have less than thirteen and not discover such deficiency until he has played any of his cards, the deal stands good; should he have played, he is answerable for any revoke he may have made as if the missing card or cards had been in his hand. The other pack may be searched for the missing card or cards.

If during the play of a deal a pack be proven incorrect or imperfect, such proof renders only the current deal void, and does not affect any prior score. The dealer must deal again.

Anyone dealing with the adversaries' cards must be corrected before the play of the first card, otherwise the deal stands good. If anyone deals when it is the turn of an adversary, such error must be corrected before the cards are dealt for the following deal.

A player can neither shuffle, cut nor deal for his partner without the permission of his adversaries.